Quantcast

Its fall! I am going to pick up snowboarding this winter. Questions inside!

TickTock

Chimp
Aug 1, 2002
~Boston~
Hey all!

Last year I tried snowboarding for the first time. I was never a skier and have always been a biker. It hurt. My ass felt like I had been pounded with a board from falling on it so much. Well, by the end of that first day I had a few “magic” moments where I pulled a decent turn or didn’t crash and I loved that feeling. What I did notice was that given my general total lack of skill, I was wasting my money on a lift pass since even the easiest actual ski trails were dangerous to a total newbie like myself who doesn’t bounce like I used to when I was 18. This winter I’ve decided that if I needed to rent 3-4 times more to learn the basics, I could pretty much buy the gear and own it, and then practice on hills around where I live and save the initial learning and rental costs. Theres also a real feeling to owning your own stuff that appeals to me.

I have enough spare bike stuff that it wont be hard for me to come up with a chunk of cash and I might even be able to trade a nice frame for some gear.

So here are my questions:
Is buying used gear where its at for beginners? What is a good site?

How much will an entry-level board/boots/bindings cost me? What should I be looking for in particular?

Is there any other gear I need besides board/boot/bindings?

jmvar

Monkey
Aug 16, 2002
"It was a funny angle!"
Is buying used gear where its at for beginners? What is a good site?
used is good for begginers, boards and bindings, but I suggest you buy your own new boots so they pack into the shape of your feet. Also, you can't try on used boots you get off ebay. You can check the sale forums on here or ebay. Make sure you get the correct size board for your height and conditions...ie..long board for powder, shorter board for east coast ice..