Quantcast

Long Term Banshee Legend Review

norbar

KESSLER PROBLEM. Just cause
Jun 7, 2007
Warsaw :/
Well the weather sucks here and the Maribor park is closed for today for that reason so I decided instead of making an ass of myself a will write a review of my legend after a season of abuse.

First I want to say Im no pro. Im a mid pack rider that forgets every year to do his cardio in the off season so I ride light in the first part of the day and plow hanging on my bike for the latter part ;) I also crash very often for no apparent reason so I tend to be abusive on my bikes.

Build quality and durability
Out of the box the Legend was mint. No problems with any parts, everything was aligned and the paint looked great. For the most part it stayed true for the whole season. No problems with the pivots and bearings (Im really happy they ditched the bushing idea they tried on the mk1) even after riding for a full month during a flood and pressure washing my bike every day for 10 days. Same for dust - 2 weeks in deep French dust with no problems.
The rear shock is well protected from mud if you didnt notice that on the photos.
Legend is also very durable and dent resistant. Ive ridden in very different conditions including loose rocks and Ive heard many loose rocks hit my frame. I also had a real crash-o-rama in Maribor last year when I had 2-3 bigger crashes a day. I maybe have 1 small dent but that also may be a dent in clear foil I cover all my frames with. I also have a few scratches from rocks on the chainstay that look like the bike was attacked by a hungry mountain lion. It will be easier for a rock to scrach the rear deep than to dent it. Ive also bottomed the frame on a few occasions with no real issues. It is also quite light at just under 4kg w/o shock. My current build weights 16.4kg and its quite burly with saint brakes and a silly 220mm rotor (needed a rotor fast and cheap)