Quantcast

MAC Laptop for school Which one?

CrAckErKorEan

Ridemonkey's own half breed
Nov 29, 2001
Winder GA (Its in the sticks)
My wife and I both are returning to school. I will be getting a BS in Computer Science. My wife is going to tech school for network admin unix/linux. And no I cannot afford the 17" model :(

I was looking at the 14" iBook and the base model Power Book.

What are the pros and cons of each? Im new to mac but I am making the change.

Thanks for the help.

Ridemonkey

This is not an active account
Sep 18, 2002
Toronto, Canada
Off the top of my head -

Powerbook has a larger screen (15), higher maximum Ram (2GB), and larger HD (60 GB).

The 15 inch screen really is a nice upgrade. The 14 inch Ibook is a nice computer for the price though.

There are other little differences and I just read an article on them but I can't seem to find it now....

CrAckErKorEan

Nov 29, 2001
Sorry I was looking at the 12" model power book. I know there is a little more growth memory wise and it has the option of the super drive.

Is the mac the way to go? I want to get away from windows and linux just isnt quite there yet.

Ridemonkey

Sep 18, 2002
Toronto, Canada
Originally posted by CrAckErKorEan
Sorry I was looking at the 12" model power book. I know there is a little more growth memory wise and it has the option of the super drive.

Is the mac the way to go? I want to get away from windows and linux just isnt quite there yet.
I've used PCs and Linux pretty extensively. I recently got a Mac Laptop and I love it. Definately my favorite. For programming and development it is great - you'll appreciate the Unix command line option.

CrAckErKorEan

Nov 29, 2001
OS X is actually closer to FreeBSD from what I understand.