Quantcast

Need wine guidelines...

JohnE

filthy rascist
May 13, 2005
Front Range, dude...
I am relatively new to drinking wine...moving up from screw top stuff. I had some great wine experinces in Europe, but got little/no instruction regarding what to drink with what, where, when, why etc. Anyone have a website or general guidelines to go by they can share? I need to impress the wifey! :biggrin: :biggrin: :banana: :banana:

narlus

Eastcoast Softcore
Staff member
Nov 7, 2001
behind the viewfinder
basic advice:

1 - find a good local store, and patronise it. ask questions. go to tastings.

2 - invite some friends over for a tasting party.

3 - there are basic guidelines in terms of pairing food and wine, but they shouldn't be straitjackets. have fun, and experiment.

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
I am relatively new to drinking wine...moving up from screw top stuff.
first thing you and everyone needs to learn is that screw tops mean nothing. There's amazing wine out there that's screw top.

Also, screw top holds air better, you don't need to screw with a cork to save the rest for the next night, so that's a nice feature. So, anyone who scoffs at you for bringing a screw top to the next party knows less than you do :D

I'll second Narlus' recommendation of finding one quality store with one quality staffer to help you. As well as wine tasting parties.

What's really helpful is knowing what flavors you prefer, like chocolate, coffee, smokey, fruity (and which kinds of fruits), pepper, flowers (eg. rose, violet)... you get the idea :)

Along with screw tops, there's no category to avoid. Like some people scoff at blush, rose or pink wines. Or the only real champagne is from France, which is also bullsh!t since there are plenty of sparkling wines that might even be better than the average champagne.

Point is, don't let anyone tell you something sucks if you like it, cuz they're dumb.