Quantcast

Newbie Here!!

piggy4

Chimp
Mar 29, 2005
Guelph, Ontario
Hi,

I would like to take up mountain biking because I am moving to Banff. I have never done it before.
I am a petit girl, 5'4", 105 lbs...
I need advice on what kind of bike I should buy etc...
I can only afford a bike around the $600 range...any ideas?

Thank you

dhjill

Monkey
Feb 26, 2003
SD Cali
Everyone has different opinions of the subject of what a new rider should buy, but my advice would be to get some sort of full-suspension bike with about 4" of travel in both the front and the rear. Full suspension is much easier to ride and gives a new rider much more confidence than a hardtail...and when you're new to the sport, having a fun, positive experience is key! Most beginners end up on a hardtail-type bike because they are cheaper...that's true, but let's just say you buy a hardtail and you end up hating mountain biking (I'm sure you won't)...there's very little resale value in a used hardtail. Most people want full-suspension.

Here's my 2-cents. In the $600 range, you'll be hard-pressed to find a new full-suspension bike...but there are plenty of good, used bikes out there. Enlist the help of a friend who's knowledgable about bikes to help you search. There's a good classified section here on RM and there's other places like mtbr.com, pinkbike.com, and Ebay where you'll find lots of used bikes for sale.

So there you go. If you need any help, let us know! Most all of us RM Hunnies will be glad to help get more chicks into riding! :)

MudGrrl

AAAAH! Monkeys stole my math!
Mar 4, 2004
Boston....outside of it....
Welcome, and all of that fun congratulatory stuff.

If you don't mind getting a wee bit hurt, going really fast, getting dirt under your nails, and sounding like an adrenaline freak to your friends.... this is a great sport!

Plus you get to meet all sorts of cool people!

TreeSaw

Mama Monkey
Oct 30, 2003
Dancin' over rocks n' roots!