Quantcast

Preventing Pinch Flats - 1 ply vs 2 ply?

redFoxx

Monkey
Apr 15, 2005
Seattle
Hey all,
I got three pinch flats this week and I'm mighty mad! It happens at the jump park.

Here's the details, maybe someone has some ideas on why this is happening besides low air pressure:

I ride a Transition hardtail dirt jump bike.
I'm new to dropping the bigger stuff and don't always totally clear them properly. I've been doing drops mostly.
I have a Kenda Kenetic 2.35 folding in the rear and a Kenda Blue Groove Stick-E 2.4 wire bead in the front.
I like to run my air pressure at 25 lbs.
I am 135 lbs.
I'm doing drops of about 3 to 3-l/2' height with a greater width to make the tranny, not always successful there.

This just started happening. One thing is I just got new wheels. I was using 24 spoke XC wheels and upgraded to 32 spoke ones. The front tire is, I think, a 2 ply and the rear a 1 ply I believe. I ran low air pressure. I never got pinch flats then but now I do all the time!

Is this the problem the 1 ply versus 2 ply? Should I be upgrading the back tire? Is it just the air pressure? How low can I run air on the 1 ply versus the 2 ply?

Any ideas?

amydalayna

Turbo Monkey
Aug 16, 2005
south lake tahoe, ca
no need to run low air pressure in those circumstances. and if you aren't worried about weight... you could always try some DH tubes.

also, how wide are your rims? you might want to give wider rims a try.

Chunky Munkey

Herpes!
May 10, 2006
is ALWAYS key I say...
Okay, here is where I found out the real problem with that. When I first bought my bike it came with Maxxis tires on it. Helter on th e front and Skelter on the rear. I didn't know ANYTHING about biking at the time. It was a peice of junk Pacific from Toys R Us. REASON before you all go, "WHAT A FOOL" I didn't want to invest a grand or more into a bike if I didn't like the sport.