Quantcast

Steel Hard Tails?

Lenny

Chimp
Mar 27, 2003
Northern NJ
I'm a newbie so excuuuuuuuuuuse me if this has already been posted.
How many of you are real traditionalists and ride steel hardtails like me?
So far, I've had 3: Bridgestone MB-2, Bontrager Race (what a great bike), and my new custom Sycip (what an awesome bike)
I know you guys are out there cuz there are quite a few custom steel bike shops out there. And some one must be buying them to keep the guys in business.
If you have pix of your rides, please post.
Lenny

DamienC

Turbo Monkey
Jun 6, 2002
DC
Steel frames all...

Two Surlys, two Bridgestones, and an old Park Pre steel frame which is now a singlespeed. Yeah, we dig steel :).

sub6

Monkey
Oct 17, 2001
williamsburg, va
one Bridgestone, pic in signature. Granted it's a poopy-ass frame but it rides nice. One of these days I plan to score an old MB-1 or Zip frame and transfer all the components over, they're all old-school XTR. Gotta find the money though.....

I've also owned an older steel Trek 930, which was my first "real" mtb, but it bit the dust a few years ago.

Lenny

Chimp
Mar 27, 2003
Northern NJ
Hey PsychO!1,
Who's doing the powdercoat on your Bonty?
I've considered doing the same for mine.
how much does it cost?
And are you keeping the orig color or changing it?
How bout the decals, where did you score them from?
Did you consider puting a clear coat over the decals?
Mine always started peeling off cuz of the constant rocks etc
hitting them.
Thanks for the info.
Lenny

Originally posted by Lenny
Hey PsychO!1,
Who's doing the powdercoat on your Bonty?
I've considered doing the same for mine.
how much does it cost?
And are you keeping the orig color or changing it?
How bout the decals, where did you score them from?
Did you consider puting a clear coat over the decals?
Mine always started peeling off cuz of the constant rocks etc
hitting them.
Thanks for the info.
Lenny