Quantcast

Ways to Prevent your Pedal from mudering your shins?

Farkel

Chimp
Apr 23, 2009
Union City, California
I know Im a big noob but I'm getting fed up with my left shin getting eaten up by my pedal

I was bunnyhopping a stairset and for some god dam stupid reason my left leg just had to slip off and I got slashed all the way up my shin

i dunno about wearing shin guards when riding street but I might start doing it, I just cant predict when my leg will slip off

stino

Monkey
Jul 14, 2002
belgium
i dunno about wearing shin guards when riding street
any elaboration on why you don't know?
It's the only answer. Wear them, unless you think it's cool to have a shin that looks like a piece of rotten hamburger for the rest of your life. Mine does (from the few times I forgot to wear them), and it's not cool, nor do chicks dig it, despite what public belief says.

May 12, 2005
roanoke va
rock the guards under your jeans if your so worried about people seeing you in them. sticky shoes help to but mostly it will just get better with time.

Last edited:

climbingbubba

Monkey
May 24, 2007
1. go with some shin gaurds and put them under jeans like others have mentioned.

2. learn better technique

3. get grippier shoes, 5.10 freeriders should work good for street and still look somewhat cool

4. get flatter pedals. the flatter they are the less they will want to roll out from under your feet. check these out, expensive but i haven't slipped of them in the 3 months of DJ's, DH, and lots and lots of freeriding. have them on 2 of my bikes.
http://www.canfieldbrothers.com/products/pedals

eaterofdog

ass grabber
Sep 8, 2006
Central Florida
I won't ride hard without shin guards. Nothing like flaying your whole shin open, filling the wound with dirt and ruining a shoe by filling it with blood.

cmc

Turbo Monkey
Nov 17, 2006
austin
4. get flatter pedals. the flatter they are the less they will want to roll out from under your feet. . . .
??