Quantcast

What valuable electronics have you seen destroyed?

eaterofdog

ass grabber
Sep 8, 2006
Central Florida
I am generally pretty good about taking care of my stuff, but in my job as a sysadmin I see a lot of stuff killed through accidents and carelessness. (A tsunami of soda into a $2500 Macbook today is what started this.) The two groups that kill the most stuff here are Sales and Senior Management. I swear it's like a big electronics mulcher up there.

FYI pull the power ASAP when you get electronics wet and give them a long time to dry. A lot of times it's not the moisture that kills it, but the electrical shorts it creates. I rinse things out with rubbing alcohol when possible to remove any residues and speed up the drying time. The macbook is getting this treatment now.

What shiny geegaws have the monkeys seen destroyed?

laura

DH_Laura
Jul 16, 2002
Glitter Gulch
I'm generally really careful with my electronics. I can't replace them straight away if I ruin them so I pay careful attention to how I treat them. Actually the only electronic I've destroyed recently was my shuffle. Sweat killed it.

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
It's actually virtually never the moisture that kills most electronics. I think most people would be shocked at the number of gizmos you could dunk in your bathtub and still fire up after it dried out.

I worked with my dad as an intern in high school for a pretty large IT department. This was before regulations about disposal of CRT monitors went into effect, and we used to take old monitors and throw them into a dumpster about 10ft. below the outdoor walkway. Pretty impressive bang and lots of fun. Saw a few laptops get dropped here and there.