Quantcast

Where to Ride in the Winter?

Jun 28, 2009
I'm looking to take a trip somewhere warm this winter so I can ride my downhill bike for a little while. I'm looking to take this trip from mid December to mid January. As I am a broke college student, I'm trying to find my cheapest possible option. Anyone have any suggestions? Experiences? Thanks

ianjenn

Turbo Monkey
Sep 12, 2006
SLO
i'm looking to take a trip somewhere warm this winter so i can ride my downhill bike for a little while. I'm looking to take this trip from mid december to mid january. As i am a broke college student, i'm trying to find my cheapest possible option. Anyone have any suggestions? Experiences? Thanks
california?

chup29

Chimp
Sep 9, 2009
Ashland
i would recommend someplace where there are mountains but no snow, so for me that means close to sea level on the west coast near the ocean - i have no experience with the east coast so i dont know what the riding is like year round over there, maybe someplace like highland is open full time for lift access? if you told everyone where you lived, this would be easier because obviously you shouldnt drive across the country just to ride your bike for a day. If you are located in California, id say man up - because thats the best winter riding your gonna find, mid 60 temps, tacky trails, clear skys most days... i grew up in cali so thats all i know though...

fred.r

Dwangus Bogans
May 9, 2006
A group of east coast kids come out to San Diego every year. Decent riding around town and fun stuff near by, and the Fontana Winter Series is about an hour or so away if you're into racing on urban sandy hills.

karpi

Monkey
Apr 17, 2006
Santiasco, Chile
overseas? try south america, almost everything is cheap, and you'll always find a group of buddies to ride with and someone willing to have you over for free!

Jun 28, 2009
I'm on the east coast in New England, so pretty much no hope of riding here in the winter except for indoor skate park riding