Quantcast

will this work? I don't see why it won't.....

I have win xp pro and things are starting to "not work" so I think it's time to reload. One of the things that isn't working is my dvd burner (well, it works sporadically) so backing up is nearly impossible. I'm thinking about buying a new hard drive, formatting it and installing xp and then taking the old drive, backing it up and then formatting it and reinstall programs and data on it (and leave the os only on the new drive).

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
That will work. You just have to install the new drive as a master drive, and then you can install your old drive as a slave. There's no particular reason to install your programs on the slave drive. I have a master drive that my OS and all my programs go on, and I just keep all of my data (documents, music, movies, etc.) on a secondary drive. That makes formats and reinstalls a snap since I don't have to back anything up but my bookmarks and maybe program configurations.

It's fine if you just want to reload things, but you should check your DVD burner manufacturer's website for firmware/driver updates. It's pretty rare that Windows will cause your DVD burner to burn coasters (which is what I'm assuming it's doing, right? It's just burning bad DVDs?).

binary visions said:
It's fine if you just want to reload things, but you should check your DVD burner manufacturer's website for firmware/driver updates. It's pretty rare that Windows will cause your DVD burner to burn coasters (which is what I'm assuming it's doing, right? It's just burning bad DVDs?).
Nope - it doesn't even recognize the drive - either for that matter. I try to open it and it says "drive not accessible" or some crap like that.

Motionboy2 said:
How about you buy a firewire or USB 2.0 drive and back everything up on there, then use it as a permenent portable backup drive?