Quantcast

Industry nine vs kings.

greenchris

Turbo Monkey
Jun 24, 2005
DA BEARS.
I'm looking for a new wheel set for my fisher ferrous as the stock bontrager are decent but aren't real stiff. I want something super durable, with fast engagement, and to be plenty stiff. I'm sure I can't go wrong with either bu t I can't make a decision...

MMcG

Ride till you puke!
Dec 10, 2002
Burlington, Connecticut
Industry nine seems to be the hot ticket these days.

But I'll throw a wrench into your thinking. What about a wheelset based off of Hadley hubs?

greenchris

Turbo Monkey
Jun 24, 2005
DA BEARS.
meh, hadleys are nice but heavier and with less engagement then both sets. ive been riding for the last 14 years and have never ever had a brand new wheelset. im going to my lbs to sell my foes fxr and lyrik fork today and saying buh bye to 26er.

syadasti

i heart mac
Apr 15, 2002
VT
The Hadleys are coming with 108pt engagements these days, more than the King certainly and probably more than the I9s.
I9 comes in 3 and 6 degree versions and you can get them in their Al or regular spoke versions now. When did Hadley start making 108 again - they discontinued 108pt a while ago I thought? Any of the brands mentioned engage plenty fast.

syadasti

i heart mac
Apr 15, 2002
VT
I9's 3 degree is damn instant.
Its by far the quickest engaging hub I have ever felt.
I think most riders would trade a few degrees for greater interface durability/strength save picky trials riders. I am not talking about any brand in particular, I'm just sayin... There is also the thing of pawls (most hubs) vs. ring/clutch drive (King, Stealth, RB Designs, etc...)

Jeremy R

<b>x</b>
Nov 15, 2001
behind you with a snap pop
I think most riders would trade a few degrees for greater interface durability/strength save picky trials riders. I am not talking about any brand in particular, I'm just sayin... There is also the thing of pawls (most hubs) vs. ring/clutch drive (King, Stealth, RB Designs, etc...)