Quantcast

Powertap hub problems

Discussion in 'Road & Cyclocross' started by ire, Mar 14, 2008.

  1. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
    I've had a cycleops powertap hub for several years now (its the older, yellow, wired version) and I'm having problems with it. I can't seem to get the tension on the bearings adjusted correctly and it slips and loosens up as I ride. I've taken it apart several times and the bearings look in good shape and I've made sure the open ball bearing side of the axle is really tight before I put it in the hub, but the problem persists. I didn't used to have this problem, could it be the bearings are ruined? Or maybe the axle and hardware is worn and needs to be replaced? Any help is appreciated
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. caputo1989

    caputo1989 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,259
    Location:
    Too many Tourists COLORADO the place being taken o
    You have to sent it back to cycle-ops to have it overhauled.
     
  3. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
    Is there a chance I could order the parts and do it myself?
     
  4. caputo1989

    caputo1989 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,259
    Location:
    Too many Tourists COLORADO the place being taken o
    My shop was told that they had to be sent in to eliminate the chance of damaging the electronics. Also general consumers can't even buy the freehub body unless it is from a dealer. Unless you'r LBS is certified to work on their products you will have to send it in. I personally have not seen the inside of a PT hub so i cannot tell you how complecated they are.
     
  5. loco-gringo

    loco-gringo Crusading Clamp Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 5
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    8,894
    Location:
    Deep in the heart of TEXAS
    We have overhauled several, with no new parts, and they are no trouble. Their hubs do suck a lot.
     
  6. ire

    ire Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6,202
    I've heard that a lot lately. I talked to the shop owner this morning and he said we could overhaul it here, to avoid sending it back. The axle hardware is all Shimano, with the exception of the non-drive side aluminum cone
     
  7. Internal14

    Internal14 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    488
    Location:
    N. of Vacaville, S. of Winters
    Yeah, ditch the axle and get yourself new hardware (cones and locknuts).

    Have had to do this for a few PT hubs in the past.

    Axle/cone/locknut threads get a little shifty and then they won't stay properly tight and the wheel will always back off a bit allowing the loose hub syndrome.

    You may also pull it apart and acetone the axle threads, cone threads and locknut threads. Let it all dry properly. Apply a thin layer of blue loc-tite to everything as you assemble. Then let it sit overnight.
    This worked, once. But not a sure fire 100% cure.