Quantcast

satellite TV : 2008 edition

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by LordOpie, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    It's that time of year again where we reconsider providers. I know it's been discussed in the past, but maybe Sat TV has improved like all technology?

    Did you choose Sat TV over cable? If so, why? :)
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. Serial Midget

    Serial Midget Al Bundy

    Rep/Likes:
    131 / 1,362
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    12,749
    Location:
    Fort of Rio Grande
    Let me be the first to say I don't own a TV, I don't watch TV and haven't done so since the Flintstones where removed from syndication.

    Wow! Smug really is a good feeling. :)
     
  3. Serial Midget

    Serial Midget Al Bundy

    Rep/Likes:
    131 / 1,362
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    12,749
    Location:
    Fort of Rio Grande
    Meh - the truth is: I'll pay more for internet access than I will for TV - that pretty much limits me to basic cable.
     
  4. TreeSaw

    TreeSaw Mama Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    41 / 428
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    16,680
    Location:
    Dancin' over rocks n' roots!
    We went with Direct TV after having Cable. The HD selection was better, it costs less and we ended up going with the HD DVR for no extra charge!
     
  5. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    Cool, thanks!

    How's the reception? Are there any downtimes from weather or whatever?
     
  6. X3pilot

    X3pilot Texans fan - LOL

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,896
    Location:
    SoMD
    I have DirecTv and when there are really serious thunderstorms that pass through, we'll lose signal untill it passes but for the most part, I'm really pleased with it.
     
  7. jimmydean

    jimmydean The Official Meat of Ridemonkey

    Rep/Likes:
    176 / 1,551
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    29,113
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I won't do satellite here, but I might switch to FiOS next month for an estimated savings (base price not counting "deals") of about $20 and the DVR is free.
     
  8. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    FIOS is a physical line, yeah? Do they have to run a special connection to your house or are they piggy-backing some other connection?
     
  9. splat

    splat Nam I am

    Rep/Likes:
    8 / 78
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,687
    Location:
    Well Maybe Windows is Bearable ! Unix Rules !

    it is Fibre Optics right to your house.

    EDIT : go here to see if it is in your area

    http://www22.verizon.com/content/ConsumerFios
     
  10. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    Right, but how does it get to your home?

    When DSL came out, I remember people running lines and that costing money.
     
  11. Upgr8r

    Upgr8r High Priest or maybe Jedi Master

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Although Verizon does not have it in every location. I was looking into that this morning and they do not have Fios in my area but they will set you up with Direct TV
     
  12. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
  13. jimmydean

    jimmydean The Official Meat of Ridemonkey

    Rep/Likes:
    176 / 1,551
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    29,113
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I am getting internet and tv, but keeping my Vonage phone. Like Splat pointed out in my FiOS thread, the "basic" package channel list is HUGE.

    <edit> I don't have an HDTV set yet, but I will after the Summer I'm sure.
     
  14. Mike B.

    Mike B. Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,524
    Location:
    State College, PA
    I switched from cable to Directv about 3 months ago. Don't think I'll be going back to cable anytime soon. I switched mostly for the HD content and it is cheaper than Time Warner digital cable. No reception issues to report yet but I do get some annoying sync issues with some of the HD video not matching up with the audio. Supposedly they are fixing it but how and when I don't know.
     
  15. TreeSaw

    TreeSaw Mama Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    41 / 428
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    16,680
    Location:
    Dancin' over rocks n' roots!
    Yeah, we've had similar issues at times, but not always (with the sound not matching up). Our HD satellite seems a bit more sensitive to the weather than the regular, but after almost a year, we aren't going to be switching back to TWC anytime soon either!
     
  16. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    83 / 361
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,641
    Location:
    NC
    FiOS is a fiber optic network. Verizon offers both TV and internet via this network.

    If you're in a coverage area, I don't believe there's ever a cost for running lines. Just the initial installation charge like any other service.
     
  17. I Are Baboon

    I Are Baboon Run, Forrest, Run!

    Rep/Likes:
    154 / 1,413
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    29,099
    Location:
    MTB New England
    We're waiting for AT&T U-verse to quit dragging their feet around here, then Comcast is getting dumped.
     
  18. syadasti

    syadasti i heart mac

    Rep/Likes:
    64 / 291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    12,859
    Location:
    VT
    Yeah this is the only major disadvantage.

    They currently offer the most HDTV channels of any provider but I am sure when Verizon picks up steam that will change as FtH easily beats a consumer satellite link...

    Read this article for the skinny:

    http://www.engadgethd.com/2008/02/06/ask-engadget-hd-does-cable-satellite-or-fiber-provide-more-hd/

     
  19. BMXman

    BMXman I wish I was Canadian

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    13,854
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    We just have standard cable...I was thinking about switching to satellite but after a week long visit to my sisters house I decided to stick with what I have. She had a lot more of a selection than I do but the signal was lost about 10 times during the week I was there...D
     
  20. Mike B.

    Mike B. Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,524
    Location:
    State College, PA
    I don't watch all that much tv but I can't think of any time in the last 4 months when I've lost DTV signal. We've had some rain/ice/snow storms of late that I thought would do it but so far so good.

    I have added on ABC, CBS, and Fox out of NYC since I can't get them over the air. The NBC affiliate denied my waiver but I tried an antenna and still can't get their signal. I don't know how much trouble and expense I'm supposed to go through to receive their crap signal so now I just torrent any NBC show I wanted to see which amounts to The Office.