Quantcast

888rc2x / intense m3 issue

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by vitox, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. vitox

    vitox Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Santiago du Chili
    just to tell evrybody that when installing a 2006 rc2x on 2 different intense m3 med size, you will need a headset with probably around 27mm stack height and no more.

    more stack would mean that the upper crown wont have full contact with the stanchion.
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. vitox

    vitox Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Santiago du Chili
    forgot to add that this is in part due to that the upper crown comes into contact with the lowers, 4mm before the crown contacts the dust seal, so you have to run 204mm+ exposed stanchion, they are marked though.
    fun thing is that all i saw had different markings on the left and right stanchion, one had a bigger size markings and the other had the same size as the 04 and 05 ones.
     
  3. banrider

    banrider Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    hi there! I was looking for someone that had tested that fork to make a review of it....can you tell us how does it work???, and could you post some pics of the trouble you have with the fork to get a better idea of it?? cheers!!!!
     
  4. seismic

    seismic Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3,254
    Location:
    South East Asia
    Well, - I am looking forward for some pics of the M3 !
     
  5. banrider

    banrider Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    whatever!!!!!! :love: :love: :love: :) :)
     
  6. banrider

    banrider Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    I have being reading 888rc2x manual and it says that the max. distance between crowns has to be 15.8 cm....so it seems to me that Im going to have the same problem as you as my Scream frame (size 16") has like 16.3cm of headset stack+ headtube length....any cheap headset with low profile??? I have been also considered buying a 66rc2x instead of the 888 but I think that it would be too much difference with my previous fork (Monster T 03) any suggestions appreciated, cheers!!!
     
  7. Gravity Ho

    Gravity Ho Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Why don't you guys buy the original 04-05 crowns and use the top crown from them? I'm sure there are lots of ppl who bought the low-rise crowns for their 888's and have the OEM one sitting in a parts box collecting dust. I know my Friend does.
     
  8. vitox

    vitox Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Santiago du Chili

    hehe...
     
  9. frznnomad

    frznnomad Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Location:
    a-town biatches
    hey vitox will the fork have this problem on say an 03 sgs team dh. hmmmm. if you got the info send it my way but if ya dont guess ill just have to see. thnks man :thumb:
     
  10. vitox

    vitox Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Santiago du Chili
    nomad, the answer you can find yourself by measuring the total stack height plus the headtube length on your bike, if its more than 158mm or sixandaquarter inches, youll need to look for the old upper crown.
     
  11. banrider

    banrider Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    mmmm, maybe I will look for another lower stack headset??...the original 888 06 upper crown looks so pimp!!!!!!besides, I suppose that it will be cheaper than buying an old 05 or 04 crown?, cheers!!!
     
  12. vitox

    vitox Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Santiago du Chili

    problem here is that a lower stack headset still means no adjustment on the crowns and its actually quite hard to find, if any exist at all, a dh worthy headset with a stack height of 26mm, i for one couldnt find one.

    not surprising really because once you factor in the height of the bearings, bearings of a dh capable size, then there isnt much more space left.
     
  13. banrider

    banrider Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    Yes I had also thought about it..the idea of putting a lower stack headset means possibly to install a XC headset which is also a no good idea in a bike that weighs like 45 pounds...
     
  14. Repack

    Repack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Boston Area
    I don't remember the exact #'s but with the e13 reducer cups it is very low. Low enough to run a Boxxer with a flat crown and have clearence to spare.
    Can'r remember the stack height with the Cane Creek hs but stock it came with a drop crown.
    ___________________________________________

    Vitox,

    Have you thought of just facing down the head tube by 4mm, or compressing the fork w/out springs just to make sure how close you are?


    M3/888 is the setup that I want for next year.
     
  15. vitox

    vitox Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Santiago du Chili
    repack

    i dont have the bikes here now but im certain there was no fit with a pig dh pro, 31mm stack, the other had a cane creek tank hit or jump headset with probably 2 or 3mm lower stack and that one still didnt get the top clamp to grab all stanchion.

    facing will probably solve the problem but its a complex and costly and probably voids the warranty (has been used a lot lately for swingarms btw) wheras using an 04/05 OEM crown gives you back some degree of head angle adjustment.

    but yea, facing it might be the ticket, check into facing the lower headtube that way you could de-slack the bike a bit as some people are finding it too slack at least over here.
     
  16. Repack

    Repack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Well, given my experience with Intense, you could probably just say "What do you mean the ht is too short? Thats how it came!". :D

    I'm lucky that I have access to a shiny new ht facer.
     
  17. banrider

    banrider Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    Ufff I dont like the idea of facing the headtube at all....my scream frame has 10 years warranty..hehehe!!, BTW Ive found some tange headset (I think there are made by cane creek too..) with a low stack...like 25mm or sth like that...I suppose I will give them a try and see what happen, if Im not satisfied I will get some upper crown....
     
  18. frznnomad

    frznnomad Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Location:
    a-town biatches
    hey vitox i appreciate the help man. ill cya boys around :thumb:
     
  19. Brian Peterson

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    834
    Seems to me the best bet is to use a stock 04-05 upper crown which has a little drop to it... Intense seems to favor a HT a little on the long side... When Zark got a 888 with flat crowns for his M1, we ended having to use the stock upper crown with the flat lower crown.

    And like someone else said, find an older stock upper crown for a good price shouldn't be too hard...

    Brian
     
  20. Eurotrash

    Eurotrash Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    362
    are you refering to the chainstays on the M3s going? Ive seen two bikes with miss matching swingarms, one of those I know is because of cracking.
    Anyone else had this problem?
     
  21. banrider

    banrider Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    Hi Bryan!, but dont you think its too little length only 15.8cm between the lower crown and the upper crown of this fork??I suppose this is going to be a problem for more than a dh frame model (at least Intense, Banshee...)so Marzocchi should have thought of offering a crown that allows more distance... my older Monster T 03 had like 19cm of distance!, I will try with a lower headset before buying a older upper crown, because the original 888rc2x upper crown is very nice!!
     
  22. thaflyinfatman

    thaflyinfatman Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,578
    Location:
    Victoria
    Fantastic. So after all that ****ing around to get crowns which were low enough, we're now told to buy 04/05 crowns because the 06 top crowns don't reach? Jesus H ****ing christ, that's pathetic.
     
  23. banrider

    banrider Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    I totally agree with you!!! :think: :think:
     
  24. mxer338

    mxer338 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    CT
    so does that mean it will also be a problem with m1's? cuz i was thinkin of getting one once my frame got painted
     
  25. banrider

    banrider Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    if you measure your headtube + headset and its more than 15.8cm...yes , you have that problem.
     
  26. mxer338

    mxer338 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    CT
    alright thanks
     
  27. Brian Peterson

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    834
    I am gussing that the max stack height is roughly 151mm on the RC2X, much like the previous models were. (don't hold me to that number, it's Saturday morning and I am going off of memory here) We didn't change this due to the large number of drop top crowns we have sitting left over at the shop...

    Note, I said you only needed a top crown... They aren't to expensive even when bought new... I bet Go-Ride has a pretty good collection they would be willing to part with...

    Look at the differences in HT lengths on frames out there right now.. It's a PITA to have to try and accomodate everybody...

    Brian
     
  28. Repack

    Repack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Boston Area
    I understand where you are coming from. Its not like Intense is known for short HT's. Would it be stupid to ask if a Shiver crown would fit? Highly doubt it but figure it doesn't hurt to ask.

    If I do end up with an M3/888 I am just going to face the ht down a few mm's. Its not like Intense's warranty is worth much anyway. Or buy the old crown if they are cheap.
     
  29. Brian Peterson

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    834
    Shiver crown won't work.... Hell, if I don't sell my DH bike, I'll have to buy an extra crown if I want to be able to adjust my HA at all...

    Brian
     
  30. Repack

    Repack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Boston Area
    I didn't think it would.
     
  31. ncrider

    ncrider Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,566
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I've got a spare stock 04/05 upper crown if somebody needs it. Send me a PM.
     
  32. gschuette

    gschuette Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    Truck
    I got my RC2X yesterday. On my medium DH frame with a Pig DH Pro headeset the top crown barely fits. Actually I am being generous saying it fits. So if you have a Giant DH you will probably want a lower headset or old crowns as well. The Fork feels just as nice as any other 888 I have ridden. I am going to wait until the bushings are broken in before I start fiddling with the adjustments.
     
  33. punkassean

    punkassean Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,564
    Location:
    SC, CA
    We put a RC2X on my friends Stab Supreme yesterday and we had to run his old '05 drop crown in order to make it work (since he wanted to run a 10mm spacer under the crown). He runs a race face deuce XC headset and it has a fairly low stack compared to some and has proven reliable over many months now, much more reliable than the Diabolous he used to run which broke many times.

    edit: the new 43mm integrated stem is sick too.
     
  34. gschuette

    gschuette Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    Truck
    Yeah the stem is nice.
     
  35. Repack

    Repack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Boston Area
    I'm retarded. All I was thinking was that Shivers and 888 had the same size stanctions, but the whole right-side-up vs up-side-down issue escaped me. I apologize for being an idiot.
     
  36. vitox

    vitox Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Santiago du Chili

    ah yea, i fitted one to a giant dh, stack is probably 159mm so its doable but not ideal and certainly no adjustment.
     
  37. vitox

    vitox Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    Santiago du Chili

    aw cmon its not that bad, RS has different crown sizes too, on the fox there was the same issue, if you make one size that fits all your going to end up making a compromise thats going to make the fork worse for a lot of people, i would actually say that considering the huge amount of 888 crowns being used as paperweights, this isnt such a big deal at all, there will be plenty of drop crowns for everybody.

    what i would like to know however is why the s tanchion gets thinner between the crowns, impairing height adjustment (maybe i answered my own question?) .
     
  38. Brian Peterson

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    834
    Repack,
    Just claim that you had a few too many of what is in your avatar and I'll let you slide... :D

    Brian
     
  39. thaflyinfatman

    thaflyinfatman Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,578
    Location:
    Victoria
    Yeah fair enough. Guess I overreacted, sorry.
     
  40. gschuette

    gschuette Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    Truck

    Exactly. No adjustment is possible and there is still a slight amount of crown above the end of the stachion.

    How much is the tool to get the top caps off? I want to adjust the pre-load.